2012 Cecafa Kagame Club Cup, Day 7: Yanga, URA finish pool games strongly

By GISHINGA NJOROGE, Managing Editor in Dar es Salaam

DEFENDING champions Young Africans of Tanzania Mainland looked better than in their previous games when beating Rwanda’s APR 2-0 in Cecafa Kagame Club Cup action at the National Stadium on Friday.

In the other match of the day, Uganda Revenue Authority beat AS Port of Djibouti 3-1.

Preliminary round matches of the 12-team competition -- one guest team and the rest from the Cecafa [Council of East and Central Africa Football Associations] -- will end on Saturday with the qualifiers of the three-team Group ‘B’ being decided.

Tusker of Kenya face Azam FC of Tanzania Mainland to decide which of two sides from the group, involving Zanzibar’s Mafunzo will go through. Qualified Group ‘A’ teams, Simba of Tanzania Mainland and AS Vita of DR Congo, meet in the other match to decide who tops the pool.

First quarter final matches are on Monday; the tournament ends on July 28.

Young Africans [Tanzania Mainland] 2 APR [Rwanda] 0

Yanga, beaten 2-0 in their opening day’s Group ‘C’ match, signed off pool play with an improved performances, qualifying second from the group with a deserved 2-0 victory over APR.

Said Bahanuz hit both goals, the first by converting, under pressure in the six-yard box, a cross whipped in from the left by Hamisi Kiiza. Then APR defender Johnson Bagoole had a schoolboy howler, dribbling a harmless ball towards his goal and when he lost his footing, letting the ball loose in the six-yard box, Bahanuz pounced for a ‘gift” goal.

Other Yanga men in the middle of the park, Athman Idd and Nizar Khalfan had APR chasing shadows most of the match.

Atletico Olympique of Burundi, surprisingly finished top of the group with seven points. Yanga had six, APR four and the eliminated team, El Salaam, Wau of South Sudan, no point.


YOUNG AFRICANS - 19. Yaw Berko: 23. Nadir “Canavaro” Haroub (captain), 14. Juma Abdul, 8. Haruna Niyonzima, 24. Athman Iddi, 5. Kevin Yondani, 3. Stephano Mwaisika, 11. Said Bahanuz, 4. Oscar Joshua, 7. Nizar Khalfani, 20. Hamisi Kiiza

Reserves - 1. Mustafa, Gk; 16. Rashid Gumbo, 15. Shamte Ali, 10. Jerry Tegete, 13. Juma Seif, 12. Idris Rashid, 17. Godfrey Taita

Scorers – 11. Said Bahanuz (23’, 68’)

Coach - Tom Saintfiet [Belgium]

APR - 31. Jean Claude Ndoli: 16. Mbuyu Twite, 12. Sulemani Ndikumana, 25. Johnson Bagoole, 7. Jean Mugiraneza, 9. Leonel St Preus, 22. Jean Claude Iranzi, 11. Olivier Karekezi (captain), 23. Kabange Twite, 3. Albert Ngabo, 4. Donatien Tuyizere

Reserves - 1. Jean Ndayishimiye, Gk; 6. Ernest Karekezi, 2. Habib Kavuma, 15. Barnabe Mubumbyi, 20. Heriman Ngomirakiza, 10. Dan Wagaluka

Coach - Ernest Brandts [The Netherlands]

* * * *

Referee - Dennis Batte [Uganda]

Assistant ref - Elias Wamalwa [Kenya]

Asst ref - Salim Bagora [Djibouti]

Reserve ref - Anthony Ogwayo [Kenya]

Match commissioner - Masoud Attai [Zanzibar]

Referees’ inspector - Charles Masembe [Uganda]

Media officer - Rogers Mulindwa [Uganda]

AS Port [Djibouti] 1 URA [Uganda] 3

Uganda Revenue Authority finished unbeaten at the top of Group ‘A’ after beating Djibouti’s AS Port 3-1 on Friday.

The Ugandans had the luxury of giving a run-out in this game to most men who had not featured in earlier 2-0 and 3-1 wins over Simba and AS Vita Club respectively.

However, URA were given a run for their money. Augustine Nsumba (24th minute), Samuel Mubiru (39th) and Robert Ssentongo (57th) got the URA goals before Roland Ayuk Agbor pulled one back for Port in the 70th minute.


AS PORT - 1. Khalid Moursal: 5. Kadar Abass Abanel (captain), 2. Mohamed Omar Arab, 6. Abdoulrahman Isman, 4. Jean Paul Niyobabariba, 21. Mahdi Ahmed Moumin, 16. Vincent Taboko Agbor, 24. Omar Mohamed Ahmed, 11. Riyad Said Awad, 9. Roland Ayuk Agbor, 3. Jean Bosco Gasama

Reserves - 18. Sahal Omar Ismail, Gk; 8. Ahmed Id Mohamoud, 25. Abdillahi Hamadou, 12. Gamil Ali Said, 10. Mohamed Idriss Mohamed, 19. Chirdon Osman Farah, 20. Daher Hassan Ali

Scorer - 9. Roland Ayuk Agbor (70’)

Coach - Issa Mvuyekure [Burundi]

URA - 24. Yason Mugabi, Gk; 17. Simeon Massa (captain), 19. Samuel Mubiru, 4. Musa Docca, 5. Samuel Ssenkoomi, 22. Farouk Osman Wejuli, 16. Augustine Nsumba, 14. Sula Bagala, 10. Feni Ali, 9. Robert Ssentongo, 7. Elkana Nkugwa

Reserves - 25. Brian Bwette, Gk; 12. Erias Ssekisambu, 23. Said Kyeyune, 15. Allan Munaaba, 18. Owen Kasule, 6. Oscar Agaba, 8. Yayo Lutimba

Scorers - 16. Augustine Nsumba (24’), 19. Samuel Mubiru (39’), 9. Robert Ssentongo (57’)

Coach - Alex Isabirye [Uganda]

* * * *

Referee - Ibada Kibo [Zanzibar]

Assistant ref - Jesse Erasmo [Tanzania]

Asst ref - Hamis Changwalu [Tanzania]

Reserve ref - Israel Mujuni [Tanzania]

Match commissioner - Boniface Nsabimana [Rwanda]

Referees’ inspector - Robert Anangwe [Kenya]

Media officer - Rogers Mulindwa [Uganda]


Join Us On Facebook

Recent Activity


Will in form Tusker retain their SportPesa Premier League title?

view more